My Absence Has Not Been Without Merit

I have been missing a healthy amount of class lately. I thought I might let you know what I have been doing while you all have been diligently attending class. In the past three weeks I have attended the University of Washington twice and Washington State University once to compete in indoor track and field competitions. I have spent these three weekends in track nerd heaven I’m sure of it. Not only have I been able to post some great early season times for myself but I’ve been able to witness and be a part of some phenomenal things as well. I watched Olympians like Ryan Bailey (100m and 4×100 Olympic medalist), Jordan Hasay (World 10k silver medalist) and Shannon Rowbury (Olympic medalist and current world leader in indoor 1k) compete and set new records. I watched a couple mile races beside Alberto Salazar, the greatest distant coach in the world (he coaches Mo Farah the Olympic champion in the 10k and Galen Rupp the Olympic 10k runner-up). As well as be able to stand among current collegiate greats in the clerking area, like the reigning Pac12 60m champion and the two girls who beat her that weekend.

It has been an amazing ride so far and the season is just beginning. Big things are coming! Be sure to cheer on WOU track and field this season. The world is watching.

Leave a Reply

